Hang out with Picasso at the Tate Modern

29 Jan

Image

The first time I went to the Tate Modern was on my first trip to London with my mother. Aiming to visit the Tate Britain, we ended up at the Modern instead (did I mention I wasn’t very good with navigation?) and walked around looking at dismembered body parts (not real of course!) and a skateboard in an empty room. Ah, modern art. But that was long before I knew I’d be a resident in this city and I hadn’t been back since.

A gloomy Sunday ahead of me, I chucked off the duvet covers and decided to venture back as anatomical art aside, the gallery, once a power station, also houses a fantastic collection of pieces from 1900 onwards, including Monet’s Water Lilies, Picasso’s Nude, Green Leaves and Bust (the priciest painting ever sold at auction for £66 million) and Warhol’s Self-Portrait and many others (Lichenstein, Matisse, Pollock, Miro…)

And the great thing is it’s free to visit… and it has a fantastic shop… and you can’t beat the view of London’s skyline… and there wasn’t a skateboard in sight.

Image

 

 

Leave a Reply

