Go gaga over a brownie

19 Jan

Because I’m committed to this blog so much, I sacrificed an early evening of a glass of wine and mushroom omelette at home to take a detour from work and visit Paul A Young, chocolatier in Soho.

Thinking I could walk away with a little bar of dark, I ended up stuffing a brownie (rather embarrassingly) in my plastic Morrison’s bag after I saw Time Out rated it the best in London.

I can’t help it, I’m a sucker for ‘best’ lists and just so I can casually drop: ‘These have been voted the best brownie in London’  as I walk past any of Paul A Young’s three outlets, I had to give it a try.

And it is indeed worthy of the title – silky, squidgy and oh-so chocolatey, I’ve had to leave half ready to rate again tomorrow night.

Oh yes, Paul A Young make other things as well – there was a pot of hot chocolate bubbling, various bars of milk and dark chocolate and salted caramel truffles and even chocolate ingredients for keen cooks – be aware it isn’t cheap (the brownie was £3.75), but then you don’t get voted ‘best brownie’ for nothing.

Before

2 Responses to “Go gaga over a brownie”

  1. -M- January 19, 2012 at 9:42 pm #

    Well I appreciate the sacrifice you made to make the detour instead of going home to chill. I love reading about places that are (currently) worlds away. When I do finally visit London, I’m checking this place out.

    • bean January 29, 2012 at 4:08 pm #

      Hi M

      Thanks so much for being the first to comment on my blog. Definitely worth a visit when in London. They apparently make an incredible chocolate ice cream in the summer. Guess I’ll be back!

Leave a Reply

